Grades Of Concrete In Accordance With IS 456 : 2000

Today we are going to discuss about the different types of concrete grade according to the Indian Standard 456 : 2000. In this discussion only the grades that comes under IS 456 : 2000 are explained.

We all know about the term concrete mix design that defines the method of determining the proportions with regard to the ratios of cement, sand and coarse aggregates. The concrete mix design proportions are either stated by volume or by mass.

Let's get back to the discussion about grades of concrete. Here we can see that the concrete is divided into three groups. They are - (1) Ordinary Concrete, (2) Standard Concrete, (3) High Strength Concrete (HSC).

Ordinary Concrete:
Inside this group M10, M15, M20 these three grade designations are placed. Generally these grades are used for Plain Cement Concrete (PCC).

Standard Concrete:
Inside this group M25, M30, M35, M40, M45, M50, M55 these seven designations are placed. Basically these grades are used to construct multi-storeyed building.

High Strength Concrete (HSC):
Inside this group M60, M65, M70, M75, M80 these five designations are placed. Generally these grades are used for heavy structures.

Check the detailed listing of grades of concrete as explained below:

You will get the IS 456 : 2000 PDF file from the following download link.

Click Here To Download IS 456 : 2000


Video Courtesy : L & T - Learning Technology


Concrete mix design as per IS 456 : 2000